Hello, 2017!

hurricanevenuslowkey

The first week of the new year is coming to a close, and whew, I’m glad I made it for my first entry for 2017!

As previously posted in my social media accounts, 2016 has been one of my best years ever. To be honest, I don’t know how I will be able to top the things I’ve achieved for this year, so I’ll just leave it up to God, and the winds to take me where they want me to go. Nevertheless, so far, 2017 has some awesome things for me to anticipate:

  1. The 25th L’Anniversary Lives of L’Arc~en~Ciel – Happening on April 8 and 9, my babies will return to the Tokyo Dome for this special occasion. Remember when I said I don’t know what can possibly top my 2016? Well, you know? Finally seeing L’Arc~en~Ciel in the flesh will top everything in my list and in my life. This band has an immense impact and influence in my life, and dear God, please let this be our year.
  2.  The Moffatts Live in Manila! – While L’Arc~en~Ciel may be my One True Love, The Moffatts will always be my first love. How special is it to see my first love and my OTP in one year? In a span of two months, no less? *But here’s to hoping that we’d get to secure tickets for the L’Arc concerts first!
  3. Michelle Branch’s new album! – Childhood favorite Michelle Branch is going to make a comeback with a new album after 14 years *gasp* on April 7 – just a day before the L’Anniversary lives! ❤
  4. Aside from the music stuff, I am also stoked for a lot of other things, like some book releases, like Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken.

As far as New Year Resolutions go, for 2017 I just want my work-life balance to stabilize. In 2016, I’ve been a busy-bee, that while, yes, I have successfully met up with several of my friend groups, there were still times I had to turn down trips with family and friends, so I can finish my tasks.

In the latter half of 2016, I got hired with my first (full) time job ever. At the same time, I was also actively writing, submitting, and presenting papers in Asian Studies/Japan Studies/Cultural Studies conferences, while also working as a freelance writer  – leading me to a lack of communication with friends and family  and yes, boys (ha!), for the most part, and allotting less time for myself (that involves NOT writing and reading). As someone who just spent 19 out of 25 years of her life studying, I’m still adjusting to being a full-time corporate employee, a freelancer, a researcher, a fangirl who organizes events, and generally a Lara with no work commitments. Hopefully this year, I’d be able to find the balance in my life schedule.

For now, I’ve stopped with the freelancing, and would only like to participate in 1-2 conferences as a presenter (still contingent upon a lot of factors lmao but for now, just 1 or 2), so I can focus on improving my Nihongo skills, and hopefully pass JLPT’s N3 this year. I have three research topics I want to endeavor right now, but let’s see how I can squeeze the time to read and review literature and all that stuff. I have to work on this finding-balance-in-my-life stuff immediately, and immediately means I’ll delay it to February because I want to have my life sorted out first in January, so I’ll be ready to kick off with things and plans come February. Oh and yes, time to finally enroll in driving school, and return to creative writing. Speaking of writing, I also hope I can post at least one blog entry per week here. Lastly, have my recurring UTI checked by a urologist once and for all.

So far, here’s what I plan to achieve this year. To anyone who has bothered to read this, if I haven’t met any of this yet by September, please kick me in the ass to finish it. Lol.

Cheers to a New Year! May we all have a prosperous 2017! ❤

2 thoughts on “Hello, 2017!

  1. Hi! From a person who bothered to read this. 😂

    Omg, adulting sounds so scary!!! Kind of glad I don’t have to deal with that pa. But oh em, good luck with all your endeavors this year! If you need a personal cheerleader, I’m right here.

    Like

    • Hi, Shealea! Super belated Happy New Year! How are you, dear? 🙂 Thanks for dropping by! And also, thanks for the support! Haha. No, don’t be afraid of adulting! It just sounded like I’m complaining, but I’m actually happy I get to do a lot of things (that I love) in life, so it’s all good. I just need that good time allotment for each. :)))) I hope that when you graduate from our University (you’re still in school, no?), you’d be able to pursue your life interests, while happy at work. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

