[C-Pop] A Trip Down Memory Lane

While listening to Jay Chou & Lara’s duet song “Coral Sea”, it suddenly struck me that it’s actually been 10 years since I fell in love with Chinese pop music. Yep, both Cantonese and Mandarin music.

And no, it wasn’t due to the F4 fever.  My fanaticism actually started because of Cantopop Queen, Faye Wong, who made waves in the gaming fandom with the song “Eyes On Me” in Final Fantasy VIII.  After knowing about her Chinese origins, I then ended up listening to her other songs.

Eventually on Friendster (YES, FRIENDSTER. THAT ANCIENT.), there was this particular account that added me as a friend. The name was Jay Chou, which was accompanied by a really cool photo of him in a concert. After some time, more Jay Chou accounts added me (Jay Chou fan groups actually), probably because of the whole Faye Wong thing in my Profile. After that, an account dedicated to Andy Lau also added  me! So I then started to search about Jay Chou and Andy Lau  and the rest is history.

Along the way, I’ve grown to love other Chinese artists, too, such as Twins, Joey Yung, Coco Lee, TANK, Angela Zhang, S.H.E., Wang Lee Hom, Show Luo, Rainie Yang, Della Ding, Jolin Tsai, etc. But let us not forget, of course, my  all-time favourite: Fahrenheit.

Nowadays, I’m not really into the C-Pop fandom as much as I used to. Growing older really does make you deviate from a few things in your childhood. Despite that, I’d still recommend C-Pop to anyone who’s willing to listen to something new. Chinese pop music is BEAUTIFUL.

Let me just take a trip down memory lane with some of my favourite C-Pop songs during my heydays in the fandom.

One song per artist. Not in particular order of love:

1. Bu Liu – Faye Wong

2. Zhi Dui ni You Gan Jue – Fahrenheit

3. Superstar – S.H.E.

4. Baby Dui Bu Qi – Coco Lee

5. Wu Niang – Jolin Tsai

6. Kiss Goodbye – Wang Lee Hom

7. Ye Qu – Jay Chou

8. Li Xiang Qing Ren – Rainie Yang

9. My Pride – Joey Yung

10. Zhuan Shu Tian Qi – TANK

Leave a Reply

