[J-Rock] L’Arc~en~Ciel 20th L’Anniversary Tribute Post!

How many times have I tried/attempted to write something about L’Arc~en~Ciel’s 20th Anniversary? You don’t know how much I’ve written a bunch of lengthy tribute posts about them, and then editing it, crying over it and getting too emotional to the point that I can’t write decently anymore. So now, I will try to be as calm as I can be.

I just finished watching the band’s WOWOW broadcast of the 20th L’Anniversary Lives, and let me just say that it was awesome. I’ve been posting this in my social networking sites, but let me say it again: THEY’RE BEYOND AWESOME. It’s the first time I’ve watched a concert held in a venue with no roof and the rain’s pouring like hell — especially a Laruku concert.

During the two-day lives, the weather was bitching such a bitch so the audience had to wear raincoats. Despite the bad weather, as expected of the Laruku boys, the show must go on. We all know how professional they are. And professionalism it was when they pulled of great performances of each songs. Ken was clearly soaking wet, especially in the “Link” performance, which brought me to tears. But what the hell, it became one of the most awesome “Link” performances I’ve ever watched.

The best performance for me was “Anata.” Imma just copy-paste here what I posted in my Facebook account:

“โ€Ž ‘Anata’ performances always make me cry, and this one is definitely NOT an exception. Just the first notes of the song are already enough to make my eyes watery. Can’t say anything more except congratulations to my Laruku boys for reaching this milestone in their career. I’ll always be a supporter even for the next 20 years to come. I love them. God, I love them. โ™ฅ”

Up to now, my favorite “Anata” performance has always been the Shibuya Seven Days one. But now, I think I’m having a change of heart. While I still think that the best perfs were in their ’98 Heart ni Hi wo Tsukero and Shibuya Seven Days DVDs, I think that the one in the 20th L’Anniv was the most sincere and touching. When the crowd began singing in the intro (instrumental), I found myself singing along in my room and crying like a mad fan. It was too emotional for me. I wanted to be there. I wanted to sing with them – with L’Arc and the fans. And we all know how touching the song is.

Another moment in the live that struck me the most was Hyde’s speech. With my very basic Japanese proficiency, I understood some of the things that he said. And when he started thanking a lot of people that made the band go this far (and yeah, he was already sniffing by this time), I started sniffing and tearing up as well. Words cannot describe how much I’m happy for them for reaching this milestone in their career.Oh now I’m crying again. >_<

20 years. Reaching 20 years is such an achievement for music artists. Even in our country, it’s hard to point out a band who has stayed that long. For 20 years, they have made, and have been making such a big impact in the Japanese music industry. They also continue to be one of the most popular and influential bands/artists. Right now, I can confidently say that they’re the greatest rock band currently active in Japan.

L’Arc~en~Ciel, too, of course, has made such a big impact in my life. Ever since hearing “Dive to Blue” on one fated day changed my whole world. They have been with me through tough/hard/difficult times, they have been with me during my melancholic days, they have been with me during my happy days, they have always been with me. Their songs and music have always been there for me when I need them the most. They give me the strength that I need to go on, they give me the inspiration to keep moving forward with a smile, they give me a reason to believe that you’re never alone in life, they show me how beautiful life is, they show me how dirty the world can be due to discord, they teach me to love others, the environment, and God more, etc. The list could go on. L’Arc’s songs, messages, advocacies have left a deep impression on me. And I will continue to spread the love to others.

They (the songs and the band members) are all integral parts of my life. Their songs have always been there for me. And in return, I will always be there for them. I will continue to support them as much as I can.

I want to say more, but there are things/feelings that I can’t express with just words. So let me just end this with aย HAPPY HAPPY 20th L’Anniversary, L’Arc~en~Ciel. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย I love you. I will always do. You guys will always be the rainbow of my life. ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

God, hopefully I’ll be able to fly to Thailand on their World Tour. ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

LASTLY, here’s the setlist for the WOWOW broadcast:

2011/05/28
1. In the Air
2. Caress of Venus
3. Dune
4. Blurry Eyes
5. Lies and Truth
6. flower
7. Shout at the Devil
8. ใ‚ใชใŸ
9. ่™น

2011/05/29
10. READY STEADY GO
11. HEAVEN’S DRIVE
12. Driver’s High
13. DRINK IT DOWN
14. ๆตธ้ฃŸ ๏ฝžlose control๏ฝž
15. STAY AWAY
16. Link
17. ็žณใฎไฝไบบ
18. GOOD LUCK MY WAY
19. BLESS

Out of the 40+ songs that they performed, WOWOW only aired 19 performances. Soooooo, we’ll just have to wait for the DVD release then. I think I’ll tear up more when the DVD gets released because my all-time favorites “fate,” “snow drop,” “Garasudama,”, “White Feathers,” and much much more will be shown. โค

*The writer was very emotional while writing this piece, so forgive her for the incoherentness. And for the same reason, this has not been proofread yet. :)))

3 thoughts on “[J-Rock] L’Arc~en~Ciel 20th L’Anniversary Tribute Post!

Leave a Reply

