[Featured Artist] Kana Nishino 西野カナ

*Song playing – Colors ~melody & harmony~ – TVXQ Jejung & Yuchun*

Today, I didn’t leave my house to hang out with friends or what-not just so I could write. Last night, I had a bunch of things I want to write about but now I can’t recall what I wanted to write O_O  So yeah, I’m topicless. One of my professors told us that whenever we write, even if it’s a blog post, it should always have substance. Having said that, since I forgot what I intentionally want to write, I’ll do some features right now. 🙂

Lemme feature this time around a J-Pop artist. Here’s one of my new favorites:

Kana Nishino 西野カナ

Click the image to open in full size.

Profile:
Date of birth: March 18, 1989
Genres: Pop, R&B
Years active: 2008–present
Labels:Sony Music Entertainment Japan
Associated acts: Nerdhead, Verbal (M-Flo), Wise

Short biography:

Quote:
From when she was little, Nishino learnt English from eikaiwa schools, and went to America twice. She then was interested in various genres of music, including hip-hop, R&B and reggae. On the other hand, she also enjoyed traditional Japanese literature, and started singing Japanese folk songs. Her dream of becoming a singer started from junior high school. When she was 16 her mother secretly sent a demo tape of hers to the Miss Phoenix Audition (ミス・フェニックスオーディション), and she was rated the top singer entrant out of approximately 40,000 applicants. A year later in 2006, she was signed to SME Records.

Quoted from JpopAsia.

Sources:
Wikipedia
JpopAsia
LastFM

__________________

I knew of Nishino when I downloaded her then latest single “Motto…” and “Dear…/Maybe” on BoAjjang. I didn’t bother listening to it at first, so I let the singles just stay in my hard drive. Days later, I kept on reading about her in various Japanese news websites. Oh so she’s famous 😛 So I thought that she deserved a thread in one of my Japanese forum sites. As I was writing her profile above as a thread starter, I tried listening to “Dear….” and fell in love with it instantly. It became one of my most played songs in my iPod in 2010. I followed her career after that. She then released a lot hit songs like “Best Friend”, “Aitakute Aitakute” and “Kimitte.”

A lot of people classify her in the R&B genre, but I don’t really think so. Well, since I have only heard her “to Love” album, I can’t really say, but her latest song as a featured artist in Mr. WISE’s single “By your side feat. Kana Nishino” really put her in the R&B genre.

Check out the lovely track below:

 

Also, Kana and WISE collaborated again for the song “Aitakute mo” as part of the SONGS FOR JAPAN album, dedicated to the victims of the earthquake-tsunami.

My random thoughts on Kana is that she looks like Charice; she moves A LOT while performing and it’s somewhat annoying considering that she moves a lot while singing a ballad which makes me dizzy. Other than that, all is well. She’s got an amazing recording AND live singing voice, and she also writes her own songs. 🙂

I hope you do get to check her songs out! They’re beautiful. 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “[Featured Artist] Kana Nishino 西野カナ

  1. Kana Nishino is one of the popular artists. According to Tokyofever.com she achieved more than 25 million ringtone downloads! That is amazing!

    She’s also very pretty 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

