Integral

It’s been a long time since I last blogged about anything. I even neglected updating this. Anyhoo, I’m back. Even if I started this blog for fangirling purposes and created another one for my personal life, I decided to just put it all in here. Since my personal life also revolves around fangirling. Hehe.

Yesterday I was interviewed by one of my kouhais in UPB for her Communication 2 paper. It was about the advantages and disadvantages of being a fangirl. One of the questions asked to me was “Why do you love K-Pop?”. Weird. It took me a long while to answer that. It’s a common question to us fans who patronize East Asian songs. Songs sung in languages we can’t understand. I’ve been asked that many times, but I still have difficulties answering it.

When I was in the car on the way to BoA’s 10th Anniversary Celebration here in the Philippines, I asked myself that question again. So, why? I didn’t have a reason. I just love K-Pop. I just love J-Pop. I just love Mandopop. When I was a new fan way way way back in 2003, I always answer with their songs are good… no, better than anything else I’ve heard. However, it transcends not only the songs. And that’s when I realized that I’m in love. In love with their music.

I realized that I do not have a reason because I’m in love with it, and that it has become an integral part of my life. I can’t stand a drive without listening to JKMandopop songs. I can’t sit still without having my iPod with me. I can’t stand listening to any other songs sang in another language. It’s a part of me, it’s my life. Asking me the question “Why do you like K-Pop or J-Pop?” is like asking me “Why do you have to eat three times a day?”. It’s a necessity. I need it. It’s part of me.

One of my godmothers also told me that this addiction is just a phase. I didn’t retort back but at the back of my head I was thinking “I’ve been a fan for more than half of the decade now. Is this stil considered as a phase??”

I feel it. It’s strong, it’s there, and it’s here to stay. I’m still addicted and will always be, especially when it’s BoA’s year this year. And next year will be L’Arc~en~Ciel’s. ❀

Leave a Reply

