[Anime/Manga Review] Special A (S.A.)

I remember posting an entry here about Special A (SA) before, but since the manga has finally ended, I might as well write about it once more.

Plot (from Wiki):

Hikari Hanazono has always been second to Kei Takishima. When they were six years old, their pro-wrestling loving fathers introduced them to each other. Assuming that she was the best in wrestling, young Hikari challenged Kei to a wrestling match only to be thoroughly defeated by him. Ever since that fateful incident, Hikari swore to beat Kei in school grades, sporting events or any competition. To do this, she has enrolled in the same school as Kei since elementary. Now she attends Hakusenkan, an ultra elite school, that costs her carpenter father a lot of money. Hikari and Kei are the top two students in the school, with Kei holding firmly to that number one position. While Hikari considers Kei to be a rival and important friend, she is completely unaware that Kei loves her. The story primarily focuses on Hikari and her constant attempts to defeat her one and only rival, Kei, and how she finds love in their rivalry.

I first got into the Anime version of this because of my junior in highschool, Joselle. She recommended this to me and even told me that I will definitely like it because it’s similar to the anime  Ouran.  So I immediately gave it a go.

It actually went beyond my expectations because it’s not just similar to Ouran per se, but it also has Kare Kano elements in it in terms of the main characters competing to be the top student in their school. The main characters Kei Takishima and Hikari Hanazono look so much better in the manga, though. In the manga, Kei is LOVE. ❤

So what made me like it to pieces?

Basically, I liked it because of the events that happen in the story. I know that others may think of this as your typical shoujo manga (well, it is). However, the scenes/events that you see here are unexpected. You know, something that you don’t usually see in typical shoujo mangas. I always find myself guessing what will happen at the next chapter because of that.

I only became disappointed with the ending >_<  I thought that the creator would give one explosive ending, but she didn’t. It was ordinary. So much for the anticipation… but I still like it nonetheless. It was satisying at least.

I also liked the values that were shown and said all throughout the manga. Since I’m the type of person who loves to jot down quotable quotes, well I’ve written a lot from SA. I guess that it so because the story revolves around the lives of the 7 main characters who are in their teens. I can relate to them.

What else? The scenes here are very touching. My forummates and I especially enjoyed Akira and Tadashi’s episode. I don’t know, it’s probably because I personally believe that your first love is the most precious and memorable love that’s going to enter your life. And that goes for Akira and Tadashi’s case. They’ve liked each other since they were kids, but they always end up denying and hiding their feelings for each other.  When Akira finally confronts Tadashi, their childhood experience comes flashing back, bringing in more touching scenes.

TadashiandAkira5.png Special A Tadashi and Akira image by zomgspongelolbob
TadashiandAkira4.png Special A Tadashi and Akira image by zomgspongelolbob
TadashiandAkira2.png Special A Tadashi and Akira image by zomgspongelolbob

Plus points for Tadashi for finally saying something sensible :p

The other pair that I liked is the Megumi-Yahiro pairing.

YahiroandMegumi2.png Yahiro and Megumi image by _Flooze_

Yahiro is the bad guy in the series. Well, misunderstood bad guy actually. He likes Akira ever since they were kids. But Akira dislikes him. Megumi doesn’t like Yahiro in the beginning, but when she discovers how melancholic Yahiro’s life is, she then consciously felt that she cares a lot about him.

My favorite pairing, of course, is the Kei Takishima and Hikari Hanazono pairing. They’re the main characters here, and we’ve seen and read how much Kei loves the thick-headed and overly dense Hikari.

Hikari is your typical heroine that you’d love to hate.  She’s stupid, clumsy, acts on impulse, dense, stubborn, and utterly annoying. She’s the best female student in their school, the second over-all (next to Kei), but it’s not that obvious based on her idiotic actions. But hey, she’s pretty, kind-hearted, hardworking, and strong. At least she’s got those traits and Kei loves her for that.

Kei Takishima, on the other hand, is your ideal boyfriend. He’s extremely good-looking, sexy, hot, simple, rich, athletic, and intelligent. Simply put, he’s perfect. He does things perfectly without  sweating. He’s immensely in love with Hikari eversince their childhood days.

Image

One of my fave scenes in the manga! Chapter 42 – page 22 onwards :p

Loading... img46

Loading... img46

Loading... img46

Loading... img46

Kyaaaa~ Come on, who doesn’t like fanservice? ^_^  Hehe.

So, what do I want to point out?  Special A is highly recommendable to all shoujo manga lovers out there! ^_^  I have so many good things to say about SA, but I’m getting lazy now, so I’ll end this right away. Hehe. 🙂  Just sharing the love. 😀

Manga scanlations credit to mangafox.com and onemanga.com ^_^

9 thoughts on “[Anime/Manga Review] Special A (S.A.)

  1. ami me parese sorprendente por que ami me gusta mucho este animes special A y quisiera que subieran los capitulos del manga grasias por su atencion .

    ATTE:

    Loretta Rios Escobar.

    Like

  2. I loved the Yahiro-Megumi pairing too!! Megumi’s too cute and Yahiro is very kind… He was never really the bad guy, methinks…

    And I liked Finn-Ryuu pairing more than Akira-Tadashi!! Finn is really something, caring about her country so much and obviously Ryuu is awesome!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

